Honey, I’ve been cheating on you.

Easily excitable over a piece of stationery, cracked tiles on the floor, a free photo app and the harlem shake – I’ve been sidetracked. Whilst I do not expect my 1,000 over followers (wow guys thanks!) to be sitting by the screen of their laptops in a dark corner of a room, waiting with chattering teeth for my next post, I do feel somewhat lousy for leaving the blog on a standstill for the last couple of months.

The vagaries of work has gotten in the way of my blog, I’ll have to admit. And while I’d like to blame it solely on work alone, it would seem almost too easy a cop out and I refuse to be one of those people who complain about being too busy but still find time to stalk on Facebook and go for drinks with friends. Nope. Not using work woes as a social clutch.

Truth of the matter is, I have been cheating on my blog with instagram.

Globalfootprints is a travel photography project I started back in 1999. 13 years, 15 countries and 326 snaps later, my little side project is going steady on instagram.

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 6.52.29 PM

And I thank god for this little project because:

1. It opens my eyes to the details of the beauty around me, as corny as it may sound.

2. It is a form of escapism. It makes me feel that I am part of something that extends much further than the images I capture.

3. It is a form of visual journaling and storytelling. I love browsing through my footprints and recalling that day I took a walk on the beach in Phuket, had that latte on Lygon Street, took the train to meet dad in Sydney. It’s a personal journey and I treasure every snapshot I’ve collected over the years.

4. It inspires others, and in turn, inspires me further.

5. It pushes me to step outside my comfort zone. I now find myself constantly seeking new terrains! Like running across streets to take a picture with a manhole. Eccentric? You betcha!

6. I’m now part of a community! The project is now part of a collaboration with almost 6,000 submissions from like-minded photo hobbyists around the world. It excites me every time I browse the gallery! Check it out #globalfootprints.

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 6.52.40 PM

Here’s a little deck I created with Haiku, a brilliant free ipad app that allows you to create communicative decks on the go. Yes, the very same free app that’s been sidetracking me. Click on the image to view the slideshow. If you’re on instagram, I’d like to invite you to join me on a visual exploration of global trekkers. Add your picture to #globalfootprints. I’d love to see yours there! 🙂

Screen shot 2013-04-02 at 6.48.22 PM

2 comments

  1. I love how inspiring you are with not only ur amazingly beautiful photos but ur words, too.

    I’m officially a fan, Sky (do ppl call u that?) 🙂

    x
    E

    1. Hi!

      Thanks for the kind words. People don’t call me Sky, though I’ve been trying to get them to. They either call me Tersh or Bambi. You, can call me Sky 🙂

      Cheers,
      (as you wish)

Got thought?