{ Ride Into The Wild }

I’ve been obsessing over Lana Del Rey’s latest song “Ride”. Her poetic ballad holds such soulfulness, that its difficult to peg its essence within the thighs of my aural senses. Her mesmerizing raspy deep vocals paired with haunting instrumentation sends tingles down my spine. Reminisce of the late Amy Winehouse, Lana’s relaxed nature and distinct style sets her apart with the likes of Adele’s haunting lyrical joust and Liv Tyler’s luscious lips. Her music video is as enchanting, raw and seductive. If you haven’t yet seen it, I’ve attached it at the end of this post. Watch it, its worth your 10 minutes!

This post is inspired by the symphony of artistry between words and imagery; the call for adventure, road trips and the endless wonder of riding into the wild open road. I’ve paired Lana Del Rey’s melodramatic lyrics from ‘Ride’ with the calming photos of nature by Anna Verlet Shelton, a Portland based photographer who shoots purely on film. There is certain sense of freedom to a pathless forest. As described by The Fox Is Black in regards to Anna’s photos, ” there’s a gentleness in her soft washed-out colors and a real beauty in the way she captures light.” Much like how one would describe Lana, only that instead of light, she captures life.

{Ride Into The Wild}

Words by Lana Del Rey. Images by Anna Verlet Shelton.

I’ve been out on that open road
You can be my full time, daddy
White and gold


Singing blues has been getting old
You can be my full time, baby
Hot or cold


Don’t break me down
I’ve been travelin’ too long
I’ve been trying too hard
With one pretty song


I hear the birds on the summer breeze, I drive fast
I am alone in the night
Been tryin’ hard not to get into trouble, but I
I’ve got a war in my mind
So, I just ride
Just ride, I just ride, I just ride


Dying young and I’m playing hard
That’s the way my father made his life an art
Drink all day and we talk ’til dark
That’s the way the road doves do it, ride ’til dark.


Don’t leave me now
Don’t say good bye
Don’t turn around
Leave me high and dry


I hear the birds on the summer breeze, I drive fast
I am alone in the night


Been tryin’ hard not to get in trouble, but I
I’ve got a war in my mind
I just ride
Just ride, I just ride, I just ride


I’m tired of feeling like I’m f-ck-n crazy
I’m tired of driving ’till I see stars in my eyes


I look up to hear myself saying,
Baby, too much I strive, I just ride


I hear the birds on the summer breeze, I drive fast
I am alone in the night

Been tryin’ hard not to get in trouble, but I
I’ve got a war in my mind
I just ride
Just ride, I just ride, I just ride

5 comments

  1. There is a chance I would like this song, if my little sister did not listen to it 24/7 …

    1. Ahaha I know what you mean but somehow I can’t get enough of her music! This is my latest song on repeat, if you’re sick of the same ol, you should really ought to check this track out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=qkm8zmSfEXg

  2. i hear a lil Stevie Nicks in there…hope there’s more

    1. Oh yeah? Not familiar with the works and words of S.Nicks. Might look it up.

  3. annibloggt · · Reply

    nice post 🙂

Got thought?

