The battles we don’t chose.

Sometimes not knowing, is the biggest blessing.

We think we know what’s best for ourselves but the truth of the matter is, we don’t. And life intervenes to show us just that. Thank God too, because its when we start believing we have life all figured out, that we stop living.

6 months ago, I was at my loneliest, lost and by far, my most depressing months of wondering aimlessly, not really seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. So how could one feel this way while sipping on lattes in Melbourne, voted the most livable city in the world? Easy. Just when you think you’ve got it all and feel like you’re on top of the world – strip yourself away from your family of friends, your partner, everything you ever felt secure and comfortable in and move away from it all. Then order a latter and do the following:

1. Fend for a future you thought you were meant for, but do not want.

2. At life’s crossroad, deprive yourself from the freedom of an alternate route.

3. Convince yourself that any other way would be the cowardly way.

And last but not least,

4. Believe that being happy is not that important after all.

That my friend, is a recipe for a life of absolute misery.

Now that I’m back in Malaysia, truly the last place I expected to be since my departure, I begin to reflect on what I could have done differently. It all seems like a waste of time and effort. I could go on about all the hassles I had to go through, the sacrifices I had to make when I uprooted myself. But I won’t. Anyone who has ever had to move around as much as I have would know just how disconnecting it is to live nomadically.

If someone told me 6 months ago that I’d be back in Malaysia, working as a copywriter in a digital agency and planning my own business, I’d have laughed and said, “I wish!”.

Jokes on me.

Cheers to the battles we don’t choose!

*Images in this blog post is part of a self-project by Hong Kong based Graphic Designer Alander Wong.

4 comments

  1. you own biz? do tell!

    1. Ahh in due time Marina! Still in the works but it will be awesome 🙂

  2. being happy is the utmost of them all. 😀 be happy!! 😀 screw the rest!

    1. Right you are, but sometimes it’s difficult to screw the rest when they are your family. Thankfully dad has been very supportive of my decision 🙂 looking forward to your visit!

Got thought?

