Cinemagraph: Bringing pictures to life

I relish in the moments when I stumble across something that excites me, intrigues my curiosity and provokes further exploration, chancing upon one great site to another great artist! Such is the wonderful world wide web I call my playground.

Jamie Beck and Kevin Burg, the artists behind Cinemagraph, creates images that contains within itself a living moment that allows a glimpse of time to be experienced and preserved endlessly. They bring into being traditional photographs and combine living moments into the images through the isolated animation of multiple frames. To quote supermodel Coco Rocha “it’s more than a photo but not quite a video”.

Watch NYC come to life! Take a glimpse into timeless moments captured from the streets, subways, parks and scenes from New York Fashion show, and feel absolutely enchanted, over and over again.

On a separate note, if you have an iphone and aspire to create your own cinemagraphs, check out “Kinotopic”, a free app that allows you to make a simplified gif file of your videos . You can check out my humble and pale-in-comparison experiments at http://kinotopic.com/Skybambi.

14 comments

  1. WOW thanks for sharing

    1. Pleasure! Stumbling on it was like tripping over a pot of gold 🙂

  2. What in the world, this is awesome!

    1. Truly is 🙂 Looks like those paintings hanging on the hallways at Hogwarts!

  3. This is freakin’ amazing. Thanks for sharing! I am blown away!

    1. Wen, I reckon you should do it. Make it your Nepal project!

  4. these are awesome! so inspiring!

    1. Truly is isn’t it? So happy to share inspirational finds 🙂 Are you going to try it out? I’d love to see what you come up with, especially with your urban street and graffiti shots!

      1. I just discovered Photoshop!! It may take a while for me to get to this type of creative level though I do very much enjoy looking at this! I’ll leave it to the experts 😉

  5. Pot of gold is right – these are amazing. Thanks for sharing…would love to try this out using Kinotopic (the ones you did are cute – I love anti-social Mum haha!)…

    1. Do one of your little princess! And yes, anti-social mum wasn’t difficult to edit cos she was THAT still in the frame. lol.

  6. Excellent photos, great job. Inspires me to try it out!! 🙂

    1. Great! Keep me posted, I’d love to check it out!

  7. I’m speechless….

    100 x like

Got thought?

