What a jellyfish really looks like.

Check out these amazing images by Russian biologist Alexander Semenov!

“When I first began to experiment with sea life photography I tried shooting small invertebrates for fun with my own old camera and without any professional lights or lenses. I collected the invertebrates under water and then I’ve shot them in the lab. After two or three months of failure after failure I ended up with a few good pictures, which I’ve showed to the crew. It has inspired us to buy a semi-professional camera complete with underwater housing and strobes. Thus I’ve spent the following field season trying to shoot the same creatures, but this time in their environment. It was much more difficult, and I spent another two months without any significant results. But when you’re working at something every day, you inevitably get a lot of experience. Eventually I began to get interesting photos — one or two from each dive. Now after four years of practice I get a few good shots almost every time I dive but I still have a lot of things that need to be mastered in underwater photography.”

Just goes to show that persistence truly pays off! 

7 comments

  1. Shhheeeshhh!! Nasty things!

    1. I take it you’re not a fan of jellyfishes? lol. I’m just amazed at the detail and clarity of the images, especially the colors! I thought they were a boring transparent gook. I thought wrong!

  2. O M G.
    What amazing images.
    Just look at the equipment that he uses to capture these, epic!

    1. I bet its super heavy but light when under water! Always wanted to dive but just the thought of unknown creatures lurking beneath, gives me the creepers.

  3. Such amazing colors, we are soo booring compared to jellyfish 😮

    1. Aren’t we! The only advantage is being up in the food chain. lol

  4. Stunning colors! Jellyfish are such beautiful creatures. I always think of Finding Nemo, “I shall call him Squishy and he shall me mine and he shall my be Squishy.”

Got thought?

