Chili Crab Pasta (salvaging leftovers)

I love crabs. I used to consume 2kg of crabs a week! Fortunately for my cholestérol level, crabs are a lot more expensive here in Melbourne compared to KL. Hence, I’ve only had it about 3 times since I got back in September 2011. My new go to restaurant for my crab fix is Omah’s Kitchen which serves up some authentic Malaysian hawker dishes and modern cuisine. They deliver for free if you live within 3km radius and $6 if you live out of the Port Melbourne vicinity. For 1 big mud crab with generous serving of chili sauce comes to about Ausd45. Delivery time took about 45 minutes on a busy weekend night.

So after a very indulgent feast, I had some delicious chili curry sauce leftover and thought I’d make something out of it! I kept it in the fridge till the next day. Here’s some ingredients I managed to gather from my fridge, threw them together and had a rather lovely homecook meal with my siblings!

Dried scallops, soaked till soften and then shredded, fried with diced garlic and Marinara mix. Add in the sauce and then toss in the cooked pasta. Stir well, garnish with fried shallots and coriander! That’s all there is to it! So next time, don’t be too quick to chuck out the remnants of your chili crab sauce! You could also use it as a dip with some toasted bread the next day for a quick lip-smacking treat! *watch out for little cracked shells from the crab. I bit on two little ones where as my brother and sister didn’t get any.

BON APPETITE! 

3 comments

  1. That looks delicious!!
    *yumm

    1. Thanks! It tasted great too 🙂 Now I’ve got an excuse to have crabs more regularly – I get 2 meals out of 1!

  2. Thanks for the recipe
    That look delicious 😀

Got thought?

