The little Spice House

I’m not much of a cook but I’m still a notch up from my sister who once, called me from overseas and asked me how to boil an egg. Apparently placing a whole egg on top of a hot pan was her idea of “cooking”. True story – sadly. She’s improved since of course, but that’s a story that never fails to garner gasps and laughter, at her expense. (shhh)

A stroll down Lygon, known as the little Italy of Melbourne, recently ignited my passion for cooking, thanks to a little shop called Gewurzhaus, which in German means “spice house”. The name is not the only tongue twister offered! A mere 10 minutes walk from my apartment, the store offers up to 300 different kind of flavored products to tantalize your tastebuds! That breaks down to approximately 120 blends, 200 pure herbs and spices, 25 salts and 15 different types of sugars. Talk about spicing things up! Just the kick I need for my dull lil kitchen!

The quaint layout from colors of the tiles to the array of spices, tea leaves and herbs greets the olfactory with gusto. It was as if we stumbled into a chef’s treasure cove filled with secret ingredients, some of which I have never even heard of. i.e Vintage Merlot Salt and Mukhwas – an indian after meal digestion aid that also freshens ones breath!

To ensure the quality and shelf life of the products, the whole spices are ground fresh on-site on an average of once per week. If you’re looking to expand your spice rack and add some zest to your cooking, Gewurzhaus is definitely worth a visit!

Gewürzhaus is located in Carlton at 342 Lygon Street, near the corner of Faraday Street. Monday to Saturday 10.00am to 6.00pm. Sunday 11.00am to 5.00pm

*all pictures were taken, edited and montaged with the iPhone 4s

5 comments

  1. gorgeous shots! I love photos of spices – all the colours, textures, and bags they are within. I wish I liked to cook 😉

    1. Thanks! Wait what? You mean you don’t like to cook? How’s that? It’s therapeutic! The crap part is the washing up 😛

      1. I prefer the washing up to the cooking – and I prefer the eating! My husband cooks really well, so there’s only room for one chef in our household 😉 I posted some street art today by the way. But there is some more that i have photographed, that I need to post… give me another few days 😉 Ps That second last pic is so cool, with the jars!

        1. Lucky you! I’m always the one left cooking in the kitchen. I’d much prefer company, it can get lonely chopping garlic. I like chit chatting and sipping on wine while waiting for the broth to come to a boil. And yes, I love those jars! I’ve been buying a few here and there to store all sorts of knick knacks. The walls in my room are closing in!

          Goodie on the post, I’ll go check it out! 🙂

          1. Sounds like you have a Manhattan apartment! Yep – I much rather have a glass of vino whilst chatting to the chef!

Got thought?

