Gratifying Graffiti (part 2): Hosier Lane

Michelle and I braved the 42 degree heat and trawled Hosier Lane for some honest to goodness graffiti inspiration and we found more than we could visually feast on! Apologies for the barrage of images coming your way. I just couldn’t help myself! Personally I prefer the “cleaner” look of Part 1: Fitzroy but its interesting to see the contrast between two places barely 15 minutes away from one another!

Wikipedia describes Hosier Lane best:
“….a bluestone cobbled vehicular and pedestrian laneway on the southern edge of the central city grid of MelbourneAustralia. Hosier lane is a much celebrated landmark in Melbourne mainly due to its sophisticated Urban artThe graffiti-covered walls and art-installations have become a popular backdrop for fashion and wedding photography. It is also known for its upmarket cocktail lounges.
4 comments

  1. WOW COOL! That’s some street/laneway art! I heard it was 42 in Melbs. Insanity as I was freezing my fingers off today, taking pics of street art!

    1. Haha for the love of art, we both had to brave our own weather at separate ends of the world :p Can’t wait to see the ones you took!

      1. I just looked over your images a few times as there is so much layered on top of each other artwork! Love the stencil of Jack Nicholson from the Shining; the monopoly man; and the bubble burst “There’s something about Mary”. i am sure if I look even more closely, I’ll see more that I like. Yep – for the love of street art, we brave the elements! I have a few post coming up so you should get them in your inbox soon. This laneway reminds me a bit of that 5 Pointz place I posted about a while bag. But I like when there is more stencil work, paste ups etc as opposed to jus graffiti (which is what 5 Pointz is…). Awesome post! I’ll keep coming back to it!

        1. Glad you noticed! The alley has been around for years and the walls have been painted over so much that you can catch a whiff of the spray paint and glue when you stand close to the bricked walls. I too love a diverse style of street art from stencil to chalk, paint and pastes to the much lauded graffiti art. Looking forward to your upcoming posts 🙂

Got thought?

