A TRAVEL BUCKET LIST part 1: 16 places to lose my heart before I depart

If I could give up my material possessions in exchange for an endless voyage and live nomadically, I would in a heartbeat! The world we live in is an amazing place of continuous discovery and no matter how much we’ve seen, tasted and travelled, there’s just that extra mile, nile and isle that remains unexplored. Here’s my travel checklist of amazing places I’d like to experience in this lifetime. I should be so fortunate to visit a hand full in my list! And when I do, I am almost certain that it will change the way I look at life, from when once was merely a perspective within a fishbowl. I can’t wait to lose my breath when I leap out of it.

Ignoo Hotel in Kakslauttanen, Finland.

Museo Subacuático de Arte near Cancun, Mexico is a new underwater museum where over 400 permanent sculptures have been installed 12 foot deep in the seabed.

Frozen bubbles in the Canadian Rockies

Austria’s Green Lake in the Hochschwab Mountains is a hiking trail in the winter. The snow melts in early summer and creates a completely clear lake. The lake has a grassy bottom, complete with underwater trails, park benches, and bridges. 

Poland’s Mysterious Crooked Forest

Crystal Cave, Svínafellsjökull in Skaftafell, Iceland

Giraffe Manor in Nairobi, Kenya. 

Santorini, Greece.

Val di Funes, Italy

Yangshuo, china

Borneo Rainforest Canopy Walkway

“Walk Water Balls” on Lake Alster in Hamburg, Germany

The Northern Lights phenomenon in Alaska

Glacier blue in Iceland

Riomaggiore, Italy

Conrad underwater hotel, Maldives.

I left this for out of the list because I’d have to literally travel back in time to see NYC Grand Central Terminal in 1929 — The light doesn’t stream in like this anymore because the buildings around the station are too tall.

24 comments

  1. Oh what a wonderful post. I myself have had a list like this since probably 14. The underwater museum is going on mine! Thank you, you have me dreaming again.

    1. Thanks! Keep the dream alive. You never know, one day you might live on top of the world instead of Top Ramen!

  2. I’ve got to put Finland igloos on my list…so cool!

    1. Cold as well I bet! Good luck on your quest to get there 🙂

  3. All of these places are amazing. I hope you’ll visit Taiwan if you haven’t already. It’s such an under-rated place. It’s a shame. 😀

    Amazing photos!

    1. I was just in Taipei in August! Loved it. I would have liked to travel out of the city but I was only there for about a week and the night markets, stationary stores (Eslite!) and street food kept me well busy! Would love to revisit. Which part of Taiwan to you live in?

      1. Oh, I understand. I was like that with my first trip in Taiwan. It took us one whole day to get there and another whole day to get back. South Florida to Taiwan is not quick, to say the least. My first trip is mainly just Taipei due to it. 😀 My husband is Taiwanese so I got to meet the family, friends, and classmates. 🙂

        I will be living there next year. 🙂

  4. Nice post, I was about to do one like this but you beat me to it! I guess I am lucky I get to go to Yangshuo in December!

    1. You can still blog it! I bet your list would be interesting. omg you ARE lucky! A place like that is perfect for a photographer like you 🙂

    2. Sarah md · · Reply

      So very lucky. Go to the bakery and butterfly show and the nighttime light show coordinated by the man who did the opening show at the Beijing Olympics. The bakery is at the top of the hill from the docks. Right. It is on the left hand side. Get the blueberry rolls. Good luck

  5. Lovely list! Aurora Borealis in Alaska has always been in my dream list since 14. And I didn’t know about the Borneo Canopy Walk in Sandakan! Thanks for sharing, keep posting.

    1. And that’s the closest destination to Malaysia! I’m so gutted I didn’t know back then. Next time 🙂

  6. Wow…lovely post! I don’t even know about half the places that you’ve featured on this list…thanks for sharing…=) The Northern Lights is definitely one of the things I would love to see if I ever get the chance.

  7. Wow and once more wow. I am amazed about the variety of Your list with terrific photos. To me who lives in Finland it was astonished that You have found Finland. I have not been in Kakslauttanen, but I think that the better place is in Kemi. There is every winter

    World’s biggest Snow Castle

    It is awesome place. I have been there twice and this winter I also visit it again. My photos in my blog give to You an answer is worth for visit. Sure, it is.

    Happy travel.

    1. Wow you’re from Finland? Lovely 🙂 I’d love to visit one day. Fingers crossed! By the way, your post is amazing and the pictures are just mind blowing! Thanks for sharing!

  8. Sarah md · · Reply

    I’ve been to yangshuo china on a school trip and its both very beautiful and very sad. There are people so poor and so crippled that they must drag themselves on the streets while they beg for money. The tourists pass them by. I made friends with the owner of a bakery. You get there by walking up the Main Street to the top of the hill from the docks and going right. Its On the left hand side of the street and they have lovely blueberry rolls.

    1. How insightful to a land I can merely explore through sight. Must have been a very humbling experience. I felt the same compassion whilst in Mindanau, Philippines. It was an eye opening experience. All the more to keep travelling, keep expanding our minds and hearts. Wishing you safe travels Sarah.

  9. That canopy walk looks amazing!

  10. […] A Great Travel Bucketlist!!![More at the Source] […]

  11. Wow amazing!

Got thought?

