I Was Born This Way

People seem to love nit picking on me – on my annoying habits, my harmless but somewhat trying idiosyncrasies. Why didn’t you do that? You shouldn’t think like that. That’s why you’re always going to feel this way. You got to change the way you are. Aww don’t be so emo. Blabbity blah de ja vu blah di dah. Please excuse the verbal jargon but I don’t care if you’re drinking your wine with the last pinky in the air, it doesn’t make what you’re saying any more true or profound.

We’re all built differently. We all have our own lil habits, unexplainable quirks and blackmail worthy peculiarities often whipped out as ice breakers at dinner parties. Sometimes our little traits comes with a pinch of embarrassment. Some of our loved ones adore them whilst others can’t stand them nor make sense of them. 

Whilst I do not feel a need to justify my annoying qualities, I do find it rather frustrating when someone analyzes me and tries to change the way I speak, think, feel, or drink. I’ve tried changing certain things about myself but I’m almost certain that I was born this way….

Clumsy. Three iphones perished under my care in less than 6 months. In my defense, all phones should be made waterproof. You just don’t know when a water bottle cap will go loose in your bag, or if a cockroach would appear out of nowhere and send you screaming with your hands flying into the air, phone into the bowl.

Emotional. Disney songs make me cry. Homeless puppies make me cry. Heck, even commercials make me cry! I cry more than I pee. I think it has something to do with my name which supposedly means “graceful water” in Latin. A liquid curse notwithstanding that from the bottle of Glenfiddich.

Talkative. Yes I’ve been told that I’m a conversation hogger, but its not because I love hearing the sound of my own voice, just that I’m not comfortable with silences especially around socially awkward individuals. Please do not mistake my social ways as being self-absorbed.

Candid. I have a tendency to speak my mind from time to time, offending strangers at bars and friends at dinner parties, without meaning to or realizing it. How was I suppose to know that he wasn’t your son but your boyfriend?!?

Impulsive. When I set my eyes on something, I can be incredibly impatient and tenacious against all good jugement. This is particularly true to my shopping habit, hairstyles and love life – hence the trail of heartache, caps and cashmere sweaters I’ve left behind. 

Forgetful. I’m ashamed to say this but I don’t even remember my parents or siblings birthdays – though I’d do pretty much anything for them. I’ve forgotten atm pin numbers, left my passport and plane ticket at a phone booth, groceries at the grocers, keys at the door and my sobriety in the 90’s.

There’s more where that came from but I believe, unless the change is for the better of the world, we should stop being so critical of each other. Surely there are more important things to discuss other than the way I suck on a corncob or fold my clean laundry.

6 comments

  1. Yes. Let’s just accept people as they are, no one’s perfect.

    1. Agree. Self-acceptance is a good start 🙂

  2. Thanks for the post.
    I was beginning to think I’m all alone.. thank goodness forgetting stuff, or dates, or people, or where I am is actually normal.

    1. Aww May, you’re never alone! p.s normality is over-rated. Just be yourself ♡

  3. Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind? =)

    Still learning not to get riled up and bothered about things people say tho.

    1. Indeed. Sometimes its easier said than done but its important to be aware that other people’s opinions does not sum us up as a person. I guess its the ongoing quest for acceptance.

Got thought?

