Declustering the desktop. Ikea style.


I was kept awake till 4am this morning, thanks to a strong cup of coffee (against my good judgement) at 11pm. So I was surfing around, pinning my fancies onto Pinterest, my latest obsession – when I stumbled across an IKEA organizer unlike your usual tables and shelves. This is one time you’ll get a shelf from Ikea without any pesky nails and allen keys!


Instead, it comes in a nifty little zip file….

IKEA Hungary’s agency, Laboratory came up with this genius idea of helping people organize their desktop with a set of backdrop wallpaper and a set of icons. The result is truly thrilling. An organizer shelf with the decorative IKEA storage bins acting as desktop folders of a popular bookcase in a catalog format. This is one of those ideas that makes you sit back and go “Why didn’t I think of that!?” So simple.

They were voted “Creative Product Of The Year 2011” – well deserved.


Other available background colors…

Here’s a snapshot of my current IKEA desktop organizer. I added in some of my own icons for flavor. I’m quite pleased with how it turned out and especially love the camera sitting on top of the shelf.


The package comes with 4 different background colors (in 4 different screen measurements) and a folder of icons.

You can download the e-folder here and follow the simple instructions below. Have fun!


IKEA Desktop Setup Instructions

No, it doesn’t require any allen wrenches, but it does require very simple setup. For the Mac, in English:

1. Select the volume, application, folder, or file whose icon you want to stamp onto another, just click the icon to select it.

2. From the File menu, choose Get Info or press Command-I to open the Info window.

3. Click the icon in the upper-left corner of the Info window to select it.

4. From the Edit menu, choose Copy or press Command-C.

5. Select the volume, application, folder, or file whose icon you want to replace.

6. From the File menu, choose Get Info or press Command-I.

7. Click the icon in the upper-left corner.

8.  From the Edit menu, choose Paste or press Command-V to replace the icon.

Via Creative Review

2 comments

  1. Bobalina · · Reply

    Is there any way I can turn the wallpaper into a widescreen?
    Thanks,

    Bobalina

    1. Hello Bobalina,
      What do you mean by widescreen? Sorry I’m not very techy, although I’d like to think so!
      If you download the folder, there will be different specs for various colors. Simply choose the one that fits your screen and set it as wallpaper 🙂
      Tersh

Got thought?

