Rock & Roots

One thing I don’t like about living in KL….is that you don’t get much gigs coming down, what with the insane restrictions and unreasonable censorship and conditions the government imposes,  its laughable. We were lucky enough to have Gwen Stefani come down a couple of years back and that’s only because she fought for it. When our government turn them away, most artists just shrug and go, “Fine.”. Thus we get the occasional underground gem bands like MGMT and big names like Bieber and Andy Lau (wth).  And where do the rest go instead? Singapore and Jakarta. I’ve been gig deprived for quite some time now. The only live music I’ve been listening to are hotel and bar bands.

So when Shirlyn told me that Imogen Heap was scheduled to perform at Rock & Roots (an event organized by Timbre), I leaped off my chair and within the echoes of a heartbeat, convinced Klara to come with. We booked our tickets to Singapore and impatiently counted down the days. It turned out to be great timing cos we, being gayly deprived from the oppressive hetero culture of Malaysia, decided that this would be a good time to check out the lesbian scene, and that we did. But that’s a whole different post.

So in less than a fewer words, cos I’ve really lost the mojo to write since discovering some cool new gadgets, here’s the night at Rock & Roots! Imogen heap  jerked some tears,  pulled our funny strings an shared some stories behind her music. It was like catching up with an old friend from afar, like 20 feet far from the stage amongst other sweaty shrieking fans. Needless to say, it was epic.


3 comments

  1. Immi Immi Immi! The gig in Melbourne was a sit down one but really felt like jumping out of my seat for a few songs! We had incredible sound and I must say my life is a little bit more complete for having seen her live.

    1. I know what you mean! I bet you took some wicked photos! Share 🙂

  2. I didn’t take a single photo. Not one … I was too busy being in the moment 😛

Got thought?

