I ♥ Design

I had no idea what I wanted to be when I was growing up.


Much of my career ambitions were inspired by screen characters; at 4 I wanted to be a pony (My Little Pony), at 7 I wanted to be a singer (Jem & The Holograms), at 11 a writer (Murder She Wrote) and at 13 an archeologist (Indiana Jones). Thankfully my ambitions became somewhat more realistic as I grew up; air hostess and child nanny in London. Thankfully, university gave me some perspective despite being confused as to which field to go into, what to study – the usual conundrums every young adult face. So at a whim, I went into media studies and professional communication…

The journey so far: I graduated, went into events, fashion, f&b, digital media and now, I still have absolutely no idea what I want to do! Doubts and nail-biting fear aside, I do know I have a passion for design. I do not have the merits of a designer but something about typography makes my heart skip a beat, an attractively fashioned poster can make my palms itch from ripping it off a wall, I’m known to pinch menu’s from bars and restaurants just for the package design & branding – not uncommon but an uncommon confession nonetheless. I fell in love with design before I even realized it – taking pictures of different forms of it throughout my travels. I’ve even managed to collect pictures of signs and symbols from various countries, cities, lanes and streets from around the world. At first I thought maybe I’m just a serial snapper, taking pictures of whatever catches my eyes – then not before long, I realized that they were more than that. They were the genesis of my design inspirations.

Its my dream come true to bring my sketches to life – illustrate on the computer (not just my notebooks and journals), work on posters, logos, cd covers, websites….etc. And so one day, I will. I might have to start from absolute scratch in terms of my technical abilities but I think theoretically I’ve nurtured my innate passion and keen eye long enough to know the good from bad. I have read and collected a library of design books. I’d rather spend weekends browsing design books than shopping for clothings or shoes or getting wasted at a bar – I think that speaks quantum. Anyway, enough ranting! I’d like to feature some lovely chalk typography by Dana Tanamachi. Although she’s not the only artist I admire and it seems somewhat exclusive to blog about her, it’s everyday artists and designers like her who nudge me towards my design trail and grail. To her and the countless others that I’ve blogged about (i.e Chris Piascik) and yet to discover, thank you for the inspiration!

Before a barrage you with her amazing work, here’s a little snippet on Dana Tanamachi. In a nutshell, she’s a graphic designer and custom chalk letterer living in Brooklyn, New York. She is currently working at Louise Fili Ltd. Here’s her profile in a screenshot…

 

 

 

Check out her website here: http://www.danatanamachi.com

Got thought?

