Sketches & Doodles

I used to fritter away my time in science classes sketching Bunsen burners and tubes while the teacher went on about chemical reactions and symbols. Years later in Uni the distraction continued during my Philosophy lectures while my pony-tailed incense scented, top to bottom tie-dyed attired Irish professor ranted on about Kant. Used to look like I was diligently taking notes while lady literature read out loud pieces of “insightful” writings from Virginia Woolf’s private journal circa 1920. Come to think of it, she did resemble the late Woolf. Which explains the lack of attention (eye-candy), adding upon the mundane and monotonous readings – yawn.

Wish I took up design instead. Oh well…..

So there I was, doodling away in lecture halls, sketching out the most random objects and subjects that caught my eye; someone’s backpack on the floor, a jumper strewn carelessly over a chair, the projector, a red lady bug clipped onto the back of someone’s head and once a girl’s g-string sticking out of her low rise jeans. It spilled over after classes at cafe’s on napkins, during long flights back home on the back of boarding passes, in front of the telly on scraps – anything, everything, anywhere, everywhere. Little did I know that one day it would become part of my work.

Here are some illustrations I did a while back while I was “Duchess of Marketing” for local fashion brand Dude & The Duchess a.k.a D&D. These were used for their Italy Spring/Summer catalog which complemented their D&D goes to Italy fashion show, featuring an art exhibition that ran alongside the event. I do miss working on catalogs and events for Delicious and D&D. Can’t say I didn’t rip my hair off a little but there’s something immensely satiating seeing your work come to life and of course, a boss that believes in you and your ideas. Which is more than I can say for some of the proposals and campaigns I worked on after that didn’t see the light of day.

Some people talk the walk, and some are just all talk. Pity.

Anyway, without further ado, here are some of my sketches. I still have a long way to go and I’m still working on it. Some of these illustrations are authentic, others inspired by other illustrations online but all hand-sketched by yours truly!


 

You can take a peek into the finished product for the Italian inspired illustrations here at dudeandduchess.com under Journal.



Got thought?

