Then & Now

As we age, drift apart, meet new people, go to new places and grow into our own skin –  it’s nice to know sometimes, that some things don’t change…


When I was a child,

I talked like a child,

I thought like a child,

I reasoned like a child.

“When I became a man,
I put childish ways behind me.”

Except for cartoons, soap bubbles,

Rain puddles, pizza for breakfast,

Animal-shaped balloons,

Circus clowns, carnival rides,

Fun houses, puppy kisses,

Catching fireflies, leaf piles,

Hot chocolate after a snowball fight,

And warm hugs when tucked in at night.

Growing older may be inevitable,

But growing up is optional.

© 2005 by Robert E. Blackwell

 

 

*Images extracted from Young me Now me by Ze Frank

 

Got thought?

