Flip out!

I was reading my usual morning dose on NOTCOT.ORG when I stumbled across a feature they did on Flipsters. Quite an interesting story of how two lawyers made their millions with a somewhat simple idea of designing foldaway slippers – targeting big shopping malls, just in time for summer. Genius!

So being a victim of consumerism *gasp*, I did some research and emailed Dad who’s based in Sydney to kindly grab 2 pairs for moi – one in black and the other in one white. Naturally! That was two weeks ago – Dad’s back from Sydney for a week  (he just arrived last night), and he dropped it off at the office today. It must have been quite a sight when I was prancing around gleefully in my new flippin’ awesome Flipsters!

This is Dad: “Eh Tercia ah, I bought that slipper thing you wanted but I tell you ah, its very thin you know! I don’t think it’s going to last. Very flimsy. But I bought already la. Just telling you. Haih. Why you want this type of things.”

Sigh. Obviously it’s not meant for long walks and jungle trekking – rather, it’s more a novelty vanity slip on. Plus I travel often so it does help to have foldaway slippers I can chuck into my hand carry on the go. By the way, its unisex so you metro-sexual guys can strut it down the street too. Check it out. It’s about AUSD29.95. A tad pricey I must say, what with the Aussie dollar being on par with the USD. Jeez.


Though I don’t sit around public spaces in short dresses and flaunt my bronzed legs…..here’s a few snips of my new travel thongs – to be worn for picnics, to the beach, poolside and shower – or whatever. Its wafer thin (so that its easily foldable) but I have to say, its quite comfy.


In hindsight, should have got the Copper instead of white – cos I get supper anal when my whites get stained. Especially when I’m prone to wine spillage. But enough ranting, I present, the Flippin’ Flipsters!

Every pair comes in a gorgeous custom designed zip pouch to keep your Flipsters clean and tidy.Totally loving it. *I’m a sucker for packaging!

 

Don’t you reckon the zipper thing look like antlers?

 

Here’s a list of occasions it would come in handy. Obviously they left out the sex bit.

 

It came with a green band that held the flippers together. It read “Love  your feet”

 

This is what it looks like when you unzip it. What a package! 😉

 

Can you imagine this lil thing unfolds into a thong?

 

This is how it looks like stretched out. The strands are elastic so it holds your feet in place pretty well.

 

Here’s yours truly in a black and white on each foot – accompanied by signature hand pose of course; sans the accidental crotch grab :/

 

Put your feet up in the air…put your feet up – in the air!

Here’s a footage with the dynamic duo – Rick & Ben. Gay or straight? Hmmm….. *pun intended

It’s always risky gauging feet fits over the internet but I got lucky! Like hand in glove.

So there you go! Check out the website. If you’re an avid traveler – beach lover or like myself, live in a tropical climate, then Flipsters is the way to go.

 

Great flippers for driving as well – especially when you’re wearing those damn heels for pain in the arse dress-up meetings. Sorry I’m still a punk hippy at heart. I love flats.

Or after a night of clubbing. Yaknow what I’m sayin’ ladies. How often have you stumbled out of a club, taken off your heels and walked bare foot cos it just hurt so damn much you’d rather step on broken glass and spit? Keep it in your hand bag and just whip it out when your feet start to ache.

So there you go, FLIP it up this summer & say bye to those darn 3am killer heels. p.s Also comes in handy when you wanna make a quick dash across the street for a 6 pack.

*Grey bordered pics extracted from website


On the topic of loving thy feet, here’s a collection of feet quotes (without unnecessary foot notes) – enjoy!

Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.
Abraham Lincoln

Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.
Kahlil Gibran

And forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.
Kahlil Gibran

Keep your eyes on the stars, and your feet on the ground.
Theodore Roosevelt

The highest form of worship is the worship of unselfish Christian service. The greatest form of praise is the sound of consecrated feet seeking out the lost and helpless.
Billy Graham

The civilized man has built a coach, but has lost the use of his feet.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Power and speed be hands and feet.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Man is a wingless animal with two feet and flat nails.
Plato

Ah, the patter of little feet around the house. There’s nothing like having a midget for a butler.
W. C. Fields

I should like to lie at your feet and die in your arms.
Voltaire

Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads.
Henry David Thoreau

I still have my feet on the ground, I just wear better shoes.
Oprah Winfrey

The abilities of man must fall short on one side or the other, like too scanty a blanket when you are abed. If you pull it upon your shoulders, your feet are left bare; if you thrust it down to your feet, your shoulders are uncovered.
Thomas Paine

What does love look like? It has the hands to help others. It has the feet to hasten to the poor and needy. It has eyes to see misery and want. It has the ears to hear the sighs and sorrows of men. That is what love looks like.
Saint Augustine

But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
William Butler Yeats

The years like great black oxen tread the world, and God, the herdsman goads them on behind, and I am broken by their passing feet.
William Butler Yeats

The stoical scheme of supplying our wants by lopping off our desires, is like cutting off our feet when we want shoes.
Jonathan Swift

This is love: to fly toward a secret sky, to cause a hundred veils to fall each moment. First to let go of life. Finally, to take a step without feet.
Rumi

Genius goes around the world in its youth incessantly apologizing for having large feet. What wonder that later in life it should be inclined to raise those feet too swiftly to fools and bores.
F. Scott Fitzgerald

An actor must interpret life, and in order to do so must be willing to accept all the experiences life has to offer. In fact, he must seek out more of life than life puts at his feet.
James Dean

You have to be fast on your feet and adaptive or else a strategy is useless.
Charles de Gaulle

Happiness is a ball after which we run wherever it rolls, and we push it with our feet when it stops.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I can well conceive a man without hands, feet, head. But I cannot conceive man without thought; he would be a stone or a brute.
Blaise Pascal

The place where you made your stand never mattered. Only that you were there… and still on your feet.
Stephen King

Why isn’t there a special name for the tops of your feet?
Lily Tomlin

My feet ain’t got nothing to do with my nickname, but when folks get it in their heads that a feller’s got big feet, soon the feet start looking big.
Satchel Paige

By reading the scriptures I am so renewed that all nature seems renewed around me and with me. The sky seems to be a pure, a cooler blue, the trees a deeper green. The whole world is charged with the glory of God and I feel fire and music under my feet.
Thomas Merton

Be good, keep your feet dry, your eyes open, your heart at peace and your soul in the joy of Christ.
Thomas Merton

We’ve begun to long for the pitter-patter of little feet – so we bought a dog. Well, it’s cheaper, and you get more feet.
Rita Rudner

Four hoarse blasts of a ship’s whistle still raise the hair on my neck and set my feet to tapping.
John Steinbeck

Where we love is home – home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.
Oliver Wendell Holmes

Don’t you stay at home of evenings? Don you love a cushioned seat in a corner, by the fireside, with your slippers on your feet?
Oliver Wendell Holmes

It is better to die on your feet than to live on your knees.
Emiliano Zapata

My son complains about headaches. I tell him all the time, when you get out of bed, it’s feet first!
Henny Youngman

There’s man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet.
Samuel Beckett

I have but one lamp by which my feet are guided, and that is the lamp of experience.
Patrick Henry

I’m convinced that the man who has learned to meditate upon the Lord will be able to run on his feet and walk in his spirit. Although he may be hurried by his vocation, that’s not the issue. The issue is how fast his spirit is going. To slow it down takes a period of time.
Charles Stanley

I always tell my kids if you lay down, people will step over you. But if you keep scrambling, if you keep going, someone will always, always give you a hand. Always. But you gotta keep dancing, you gotta keep your feet moving.
Morgan Freeman

Feet, what do I need you for when I have wings to fly?
Frida Kahlo

You do not need to leave your room. Remain sitting at your table and listen. Do not even listen, simply wait, be quiet still and solitary. The world will freely offer itself to you to be unmasked, it has no choice, it will roll in ecstasy at your feet.
Franz Kafka

I had the blues because I had no shoes until upon the street, I met a man who had no feet.
Denis Waitley

A woman’s heart must be of such a size and no larger, else it must be pressed small, like Chinese feet; her happiness is to be made as cakes are, by a fixed recipe.
George Eliot

We just bought this house. It’s too big. It’s like 400,000 square feet, or something. We got an indoor lake and ski slope in the house! It’s just too big.
Adam Sandler

From 30 feet away she looked like a lot of class. From 10 feet away she looked like something made up to be seen from 30 feet away.
Raymond Chandler

Jogging is very beneficial. It’s good for your legs and your feet. It’s also very good for the ground. If makes it feel needed.
Charles M. Schulz

If you’re going to kick authority in the teeth, you might as well use two feet.
Keith Richards

I advise keeping four feet on the floor and all hands on deck.
Ann Landers

I wish my hair was thicker, and I wish my feet were prettier. My toes are really ugly. I wish my ears were smaller. And my nose could be smaller too.
Britney Spears

Show me your hands. Do they have scars from giving? Show me your feet. Are they wounded in service? Show me your heart. Have you left a place for divine love?
Fulton J. Sheen

Riding a motorcycle on today’s highways, you have to ride in a very defensive manner. You have to be a good rider and you have to have both hands and both feet on the controls at all times.
Evel Knievel

My mom never taught me to be waiting for some prince on a white horse to swipe me off my feet.
Tyra Banks

On learning to swim: I’m too big to have some woman hold my stomach and say ‘Now kick your feet.’
Will Smith

Saturday Night Live is such a comedy boot camp in a way, because you get to work with so many different people who come in to host the show and you get thrown into so many situations and learn how to think on your feet, so filmmaking actually feels slow, in a good way.
Will Ferrell

I never really look for anything. What God throws my way comes. I wake up in the morning and whichever way God turns my feet, I go.
Pearl Bailey

The cool part of being an entertainer is getting the opportunity to get your feet wet in all areas.
Paula Abdul

Old-fashioned ways which no longer apply to changed conditions are a snare in which the feet of women have always become readily entangled.
Jane Addams

People ask me how far I’ve come. And I tell them twelve feet: from the audience to the stage.
David Lee Roth

People praise virtue, but they hate it, they run away from it. It freezes you to death, and in this world you’ve got to keep your feet warm.
Denis Diderot

A man’s feet should be planted in his country, but his eyes should survey the world.
George Santayana

 

 

2 comments

  1. ure right! I LOVES IT! perfect for carrying on any night out which involved stilettos….this would be a permanent item in my bag FO SUREEEEE!

    L

    1. Go get a pair since ur in Sydney! Btw, showed them to Hseng and Karen and they’re keen on getting a pair too. When you getting back? Maybe you can help get them a pair each. If not its okay, I’ll get dad to get for them since he’s coming back to KL again in Dec.

Got thought?

