Landslide

Stevie Nicks posed a couple of questions in her brilliant song “Landslide” when she was with Fleetwood Mac in the mid-70s:

“Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?”

“Can I handle the seasons of my life?”

Those questions did not really have much meaning when I first heard them almost 15 years ago, but as I have grown older (and hopefully wiser), the poignancy of those questions has taken on great meaning for me.

Life (and a big part of our life is our chosen profession) is a journey—not a destination—and if we keep our eyes and minds open to the sights, people, and interactions we are going to experience along the way, then it can and will be a very enjoyable trip. Sure…there are some bumps in the road along the way, but if you think back and total the meaningful moments (both big and small) of your life, I am sure you will find the number of positive ones dwarf the negative ones.

Don’t be dismayed if you feel that you are not chasing your passions. Just because you are too overwhelmed by how much you want and find it difficult to discipline yourself to attain, doesn’t mean you don’t have ambition.

Don’t let any person, company, law, historial/generic convention, or edict shame you from being who you really are.

Chose the journey, not the destination.

 

3 comments

  1. Hey there,I am Nisha. We’ve never met yet I’ve seen your profile on Fridae and chance upon your blog. I thought you wrote so simply and eloquently with this post.I have been going through an unrelentless time this year, at some instances,it’s so overwhelming, I really hoped that someone would stop and ask me if I am okay.Your post somehow in ways I cannot explain brought comfort and strength to my heart. Thank you.

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Thank you for this~

  3. Feels funny being thanked for a blog entry but you are truly welcome, if it – in any way – ameliorates the situation you are in.:)

Got thought?

